The Opportunity to Be Real

Standard

I’ve been writing a novel for almost a year. I don’t want to disclose the storyline, but I would like to share with you that writing fiction is a dynamic opportunity to be real.

Imagine telling the truth about your thoughts, feelings, and motivations without holding back or apologizing. Fiction writing provides a platform to tell a story from the gut and not look over your shoulder.

A dear friend of mine told me years ago that fiction has more truth than non-fiction. At the time I thought her claim was ridiculous and laughed. But now I smile and agree.

Have you noticed how many memoir writers pour their memories into fiction? This choice can certainly reduce chances of hurting others and being sued. I also think about some Biblical parables, like “consider the lilies of the field…” Well, lilies can’t talk to us, but they present a powerful truth about God’s care. A message more potently expressed in symbolism than using “real” people’s names.

product_info.php?products_id=347

Leave a comment